2017 – 2018 ATRI Research Advisory Committee


The Research Advisory Committee (RAC) is comprised of government officials, independent scientists, labor union officials, academics and trucking company executives and suppliers from a diverse cross-section of the industry, all who understand the importance of sound science to an industry as complex as the trucking industry. The RAC is charged with annually recommending a research agenda for the Institute.

Mr. Scott Mugno, RAC Chairman
Vice President, Safety, Sustainability and Vehicle Maintenance
FedEx Ground
Moon Township, PA




Mr. Jon Blackham
Policy and Government Affairs
Canadian Trucking Alliance
Toronto, Ontario

Ms. Amy Boerger
Vice President – North American Engine Business
Cummins Inc.
Columbus, IN

Mr. Randy Boyles
Senior Vice President, Mobile Strategy
Advance, NC

Mr. Bill Brown
Manager of Fleet Telematics
Southeastern Freight Lines

Mr. Michael Conyngham
Director of Research
International Brotherhood of Teamsters
Washington, DC

Mr. Bob Costello
Chief Economist and Senior Vice President
American Trucking Associations
Washington, DC

Mr. Tom Cuthbertson
Vice President, Regulatory Compliance
Omnitracs LLC
Eden Prairie, MN

Mr. Dennis Dellinger
Cargo Transporters
Claremont, NC

Mr. Chip Duden
Vice President, Strategic Business Analytics
Werner Enterprises
Omaha, NE

Mr. Paul J. Enos
Chief Executive Officer
Nevada Trucking Association
Reno, NV

Mr. Scott George
Chief Executive Officer
TCW, Inc.
Nashville, TN

Dr. Mike Golias
Director for Research,
Intermodal Freight Transportation Institute
University of Memphis
Memphis, TN

Mr. Stan Hampton
Vice President of Driver Personnel
J.B. Hunt
Lowell, AR

Mr. Victor Hart
Director of Safety
DOT Transportation, Inc.
Mount Sterling, IL

Mr. Sanford Hodes
Senior Vice President and Deputy General Counsel
Ryder System, Inc.
Miami, FL

Mr. Ken Howden
Director, 21st Century Truck Partnership
U.S. Department of Energy
Washington, DC

Ms. Kelly Killingsworth
VP of Inbound Transportation
Walmart Transportation
Bentonville, AR

Ms. Victoria King
VP Public Affairs
Atlanta, GA

Mr. Dustin Koehl
Vice President, Sales & Marketing
Total Transportation of Mississippi
Richland, MS

Ms. Caroline Mays
Director, Freight and International Trade Section
Texas DOT
Austin, TX

Mr. Chris McLoughlin
Cargo Risk Manager
C.H. Robinson
Eden Prairie, MN

Ms. Lisa Mullings
President and CEO
National Association of Truck Stop Operators
Alexandria, VA

Mr. Tom Murtha
Senior Planner
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
Chicago, IL

Ms. Brenda Neville
Iowa Motor Truck Association, Inc.
Des Moines, IA

Mr. Dean Newell
Vice President, Safety
Maverick USA, Inc.
Little Rock, AR

Ms. Karen Rasmussen
President and CEO
Phoenix, AZ

Mr. Wellington F. Roemer, III
President & CEO
Wellington F. Roemer Insurance, Inc.
Toledo, OH

Deputy Chief Mark Savage
Colorado State Patrol
Lakewood, CO

Ms. Andrea Sequin
Directory, Regulatory Services
Schneider National, Inc.
Green Bay, WI

Mr. Carl Stebbins
Corporate Director of Admissions and Marketing
New England Tractor Trailer Training School
Somers, CT

Mr. Harold Sumerford, Jr.
Chief Executive Officer
J&M Tank Lines

Mr. James E. Ward
President and CEO
D.M. Bowman
Williamsport, MD

Mr. Tom Weakley
Director of Operations
Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association Foundation
Grain Valley, MO